Job/Life Advice (1 Viewer)

moechar

Full House
Supporter
Reaction score
1656430565067.png

Okay this is more than me just asking if ya'll are hiring LOL. Plenty of people on this forum know me and have helped me out and given me advice and even more (too many to tag, but thx everyone), but I am taking my personal issues public because why not hahaha.

Long story short, I am 25 and I work in marketing at a finance company. And I am bored. I mean like extremely bored. I will let it be known that this is not 100% an issue of my current role and function, but also more of a personality trait of feeling the need to be more challenged or do things that seem novel rather than repetitive and mundane. I've never had one specific passion, I've always been great at learning new things and getting really obsessed and then moving on when something else new and shiny comes along. But, it is also my current role, dealing with a really horrid manager and really not enjoying any aspect of my current work.

Many of you know I've debated going back to school, either for a second bachelors (don't laugh I know it sounds dumb) in a stem subject like mechanical engineering in order to work on more innovative challenging things, or even a masters like an MBA in order to get into the startup world. But given a ton of different current issues (inflation, cost of living in NYC, timing/recession, student loans, opportunity cost, time to complete the degree, etc.) and also the concern that getting yet another degree won't solve my problems with work has sort of deterred/delayed me from committing to this direction. I know long term I'd love to start my own thing, but still have no idea what I would start.

In conclusion, I am not only asking if there are any companies/roles you guys work at and/or suggest I look into/apply for (I'd be willing to relocate to pretty much any big city), but also just looking for advice/people's general opinions on the matter.

Thanks PCF :)

Vic