What non-standard games do you play in your home game? (2 Viewers)

HughDrackman

Two Pair
Reaction score
Hey all, I started playing poker even I was 17. I would go to my uncle’s home games, where we would get into some goofy, non-standard games I haven’t heard of outside him and his circle of friends. Guts, Points, Montana Red Dog, Baseball, 7-27, and others that made the night fun, and broke up the monotony of NLH and Omaha.

So I was wondering, what are some of your non-standard home games?

Besides NLH and PLO8 (and Big-O), we play Crazy Pineapple 8 (declare, spread limit, usually), Scrotum 8. More rare but when we feel particularly degen-y, we'll incorporate some Elevator 8, Irish Omaha (Big-O but can use 2 or 3 cards in your hand--can you say hidden boats and quads?), and other wacky games.

We used to play more wild [card] games like Baseball, Low Chicago, Queens and Follow, etc. but we've moved away from those.

1667417773499.png

A friend introduced Elevator, and I added two variants to it: "Express Elevator" which has one fewer floor so there's fewer rounds of betting, and "Fire Escape" which is Express Elevator but you can play one of the two 3-card vertical columns that make up the "building" (with 2 cards in your hand).

Check out https://www.pokerchipforum.com/resources/abby99s-mixed-game-cards.45/ for more games and https://www.pokerchipforum.com/threads/your-best-6-pl-circus-game-rotation.94430/ for a recent discussion on (pot limit, split pot) circus games.

Last edited:
In one of my home game groups 727 is about half the games chosen. We do spread limit with a 4 bet cap. I kind of want to do a PL version - would make it almost an entirely different game. But no one else seems to be interested.