What is the biggest lie about poker ? (1 Viewer)

Chuck Norris won the 1983 World Series of Poker despite holding only a Joker, a Get out of jail free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green No.4 Uno card.

Chuck Norris bought all of the Harrah’s Cherokee T1000s from the gift shop.

The old man that Ive been playing with for 10 years is a very mediocre player. In fact, he misreads his own hands so much, it could be said he is a BELOW AVERAGE PLAYER , yet he consistently wins big money in our local games and he most certainly is not the best player in the game. There are at least 4 other players who are better then him. This phenomena can only be explained by the old mans above average run of luck. From a skill perspective and mathematically, the old man should be a losing player . He also has the incredible scenario that when he hits his big winning hands , there are other players in the hand that make big hands, to pay him off . In other words, it is good luck to hit quads and full houses, but it isnt very beneficial unless you get other players tied up in the hand, to also have big hands and pay you off. This is yet another part of the good luck factor, that most people do not think about.

Seat open... :whistle: :whistling:

1) "luck" never equals true in a trillion coin flips we can not expect to have an exact 50/50, but it will be every close to it
2) but still I dont believe that a bad player runs constantley over EV over the time frame of 10 years, he does something right if he owns you all so hard
3) In my local poker game which we ran for 10 years now. We kept track of all results and they are almost exaclty to the strengh of each player

I once flopped quads with 33 middle position in an unraised pot with 4 players playing $1/2NL at Borgata. People were paying pretty loose all night. It gets checked to me, I checked it, and it checked around. Turn card gets checked to me and I bet $6. Everyone folds and I win the blinds:(