Official Rum Thread (1 Viewer)

AfterTheFact

4 of a Kind
Reaction score
We have a whiskey, beer and cigar thread so I thought I would see what rum everyone likes. I'm new to drinking rum straight and I'm having a glass of Pampero Aniversario as I type this. What is your recommendations?

I thought only Pirates drank rum strait:eek: lol

We just started collecting Caribbean rum this past year. Wife is a travel agent and she only sells the Caribbean so it fits.
Not sure what it tastes like because im not a big drinker.

I forgot about the local rum distillery near me in Sarasota - Drum Circle Distillery - they make a very good Siesta Key Spiced Rum and a great Distiller's Reserve.

Diplomatico Run Reserva neat. A little pricey for rum at around $33, but it's good stuff.

8818810748958_zpslxq4pwu0.png

mount gay for mixing. diplomatico for martini style drinks

-gc :)

The Kraken rules!!!
Put a beast in your belly!

I enjoy this limited release, locally made rum quite a bit.

"Hurricane Rum is released each year during Hurricane season. This is done in honor of the awesome storms that cause havoc from the Keys to Nantucket. It is aged in bourbon casks imparting a wonderful golden color and distinctive whiskey flavor. Hints of caramel and vanilla along with a smoky tobacco flavor make this rum very well balanced."

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxciscotripleeight_hurricanerum.jpg

We're drinking a lot more rum since we moved to Florida. It just seems to fit in with the weather, as do gin & tonics.

I use Flor de Cana Oro for fruity mixed drinks. We find Pyrat XO Reserve, from Anguilla, with it's strong orange notes, to be enjoyable mixed or straight, and it's around $30 a bottle.

IMO, the best buy around is the Ron Zacapa Centenario 23 yr. at $35. The Diplomatico and Bacardi 8 yr reservas are also excellent, right around that same price. The Matusalem Gran Reserva 15 yr. is a few bucks cheaper.

When you're in Canada or the Caribbean, it's great to taste real Cuban rums.