How many small STT can you lose in a row before you should think, "Hey, I'm not very good at poker?" (1 Viewer)

Well, we all know playing perfect poker only works against good players, but is highly ineffective against brain-dead donkeys.

I'm not sure I'd consider turbos or short handed tournaments a benchmark at judging poker skill unless that's the only form of poker one plays. Ignoring that, ten games is much too small a sample to say anything beyond "variance sucks".
I didn’t know @Beakertwang’s real name was “Variance”.

Asking for a friend. Let's say you lose 6 three-handed turbo tournaments in a row. And then you proceed to lose an additional 4 four-handed tournaments in a row. Is that a large enough sample size where one should reflect on their pokering?
You just need to understand all the variables. Cash versus tourney, big difference. Number of players swings the strat quite a bit, 10 vs 7 vs 5 vs 3. All different. So basically your sample size is riding the fence between 3 and 4 handed. Then if you progress and end up going heads up, that changes things again. Soooooooo maybe like 100 more tourneys. :cool

To be clear this is not about me personally. I won two of these, which although below expected performance is still well within a margin of error.

So no need to try to be nice about it.

Are STT's the only poker this friend has played? If so, what kind of friend are you to allow this to happen?

Tournament ROI is just liqour and guessing. Henson mob results are meaningless.

Tournaments amongst skilled players are just really inefficient flips.

If you want to really assess your skills play hundreds of hours of cash.

Tournament ROI is just liqour and guessing. Henson mob results are meaningless.

Tournaments amongst skilled players are just really inefficient flips.

If you want to really assess your skills play hundreds of hours of cash.
Yeah, well, thank gosh I don't invite any skilled players.

Henson mob
1712240553886.gif