Weird hand, exposed card AA, lunatic.

jpietrella

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
2,334
Reaction score
5,327
Location
Boston, MA
OK, so I'm more so posting this because it's the first time I've seen it happen rather than asking for feedback on the play, but if anyone has any constructive criticism I'm game. I feel like the hand more or less played itself. Spoiler for the turn (and uninteresting river) for fun.

Game: $1/$2 live table at Foxwoods, 9-handed. Hero starts with ~$475, big stack at the table is ~$700, average stacks around $300. UTG+1 is the shortest stack at $95, SB is next in line with just under $240.

Notes:
  • SB is a borderline lunatic, raises just about every pot, though usually a teaser, somewhere between $6-$9. He has, miraculously, smashed tons of flops with absolute garbage on a very consistent basis.
  • All of my show downs to this point have shown strong holdings and if I'm at showdown, I'm probably taking down the pot. My image at this point should lean heavily in the TAG direction
  • I'm familiar with the dealer. I haven't seen him in about 18 months because of COVID, but he knows me well and any borderline judgement calls he'd have to make would probably swing in my favor
  • I've been openly card dead for the better part of about 90 minutes after taking down a couple of medium-sized pots
The Deal:
  • Hero is on the button and chatting up villain who is in the SB
  • Dealer pitches Hero's 1st hole card, hits the felt and immediately uses the top of my hand as a ramp and flips face up - :ac:. Dealer announces an exposed card, continues dealing
  • Dealer successfully pitches Hero's 2nd card face down - :as:, starts calling the action
  • I gesture to the dealer for a replacement card but he announces that since the flipped card was not caused by the dealer, I'm allowed to keep it if I wish. I do.
Pre-Flop Action:
  • 4 limps, 2 fold action to the Hero. I limp assuming the villain will raise. He obliges - $8 to go
  • 4 calls, action to the Hero. I raise to $36.
  • SB calls, 2 middle position players call
The Flop:
  • Flop is :kh::5d::3d:
  • SB bets $55, 2 calls and action to the Hero
  • I raise all-in, for an additional $384 (effective $245 more with everyone still involved being shorter-stacked)
  • SB tanks, chugs his Jack & Coke and makes the call for his remaining $148. The 2 middle position players fold
  • I table my :ac::as: and he shows :ks::th:
  • One of the middle position folders announces he folded :td::ts:

:kc:

:7s:







:vomit:
 

Hornet

Full House
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
2,887
Reaction score
7,833
Location
Columbus
I gesture to the dealer for a replacement card but he announces that since the flipped card was not caused by the dealer, I'm allowed to keep it if I wish. I do.
This just seems to be a clearly incorrect ruling. If hero turned the card up, then hero should have to keep the card. If the card flipped up during the process of dealing (regardless of who “caused” it), then the card should come back and a replacement should be dealt. I’ve never heard of the player being given an option whether to keep the card or not.
 

BGinGA

Royal Flush
Tourney Director
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
25,518
Reaction score
39,313
Location
Atlanta
And certainly not after receiving a second card. That option contains a lot of swing power.
 

moose

Full House
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
7,361
Location
chip harvesting
This just seems to be a clearly incorrect ruling. If hero turned the card up, then hero should have to keep the card. If the card flipped up during the process of dealing (regardless of who “caused” it), then the card should come back and a replacement should be dealt. I’ve never heard of the player being given an option whether to keep the card or not.
I think his option was to play the exposed card or fold, not whether or not to get a replacement.
 

trigs

Flush
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
1,061
Reaction score
1,227
Location
Canada
I've actually thought of this type of scenario before. If a card is accidentally flipped over while dealing (no matter who is at fault), and the player wants to keep it (before getting to see their second card obviously), is there really anything wrong with that? It's their choice to play with one card exposed anyway. I'm assuming there's some cheating/angle that I'm not seeing perhaps.
 

jpietrella

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
2,334
Reaction score
5,327
Location
Boston, MA
Would anyone have asked for another card or folded AA given that half their hand was exposed at the start of the hand? Obviously you always want to start with the best hand possible, but there's something to be said for the table not knowing what half of your holding is. :LOL: :laugh:
 

Hot Nuts

Flush
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
1,107
Reaction score
1,258
Location
Raleigh
I've gotten AA cracked by K10 quite a few times, often getting it all in and another k or 10 comes on the river. One guy did it to me twice and his nickname was K2. I called him K10 from then on.
 

casinochipper22

3 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
547
Reaction score
989
Location
California
Lol. "Keep it if you wish" wow. And judgment calls side with you. Sounds like one hell of a dealer that I'd never play a hand with.
Its either his fault and you are given a new card. Or your fault and you keep the exposed card. It's absolutely never... "keep it if you feel like it". Haha. That's pretty funny.
 

casinochipper22

3 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
547
Reaction score
989
Location
California
Lol. "Keep it if you wish" wow. And judgment calls side with you. Sounds like one hell of a dealer that I'd never play a hand with.
Its either his fault and you are given a new card. Or your fault and you keep the exposed card. It's absolutely never... "keep it if you feel like it". Haha. That's pretty funny.
And if there is any doubt... which there shouldn't be because you should literally be looking at the cards you are pitching... then the card should be kept in the players hand. That prevents players from taking shots and turning over a duece and trying to draw to an ace or king. Lol
 

casinochipper22

3 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
547
Reaction score
989
Location
California
I've actually thought of this type of scenario before. If a card is accidentally flipped over while dealing (no matter who is at fault), and the player wants to keep it (before getting to see their second card obviously), is there really anything wrong with that? It's their choice to play with one card exposed anyway. I'm assuming there's some cheating/angle that I'm not seeing perhaps.
Dealers fault you are given a new card 100%. Players fault you keep the card. This prevents a possible angle from the player and even the dealer.
 

DeusEx

Pair
Supporting Member
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
222
Reaction score
220
Location
In Orbit
The dealer was incorrect
I gesture to the dealer for a replacement card but he announces that since the flipped card was not caused by the dealer

A card pitched by the dealer that is exposed because it strikes a player's hand shall be deemed exposed by the dealer, not by the player. - Cooke's Rules of Real Poker.

You should have been given another card, and if it was the second card exposed, 50/50 miss deal.

Constructive Criticism: Thank the guy for trying to give you his money, play another hand. =)
 

Schmendr1ck

4 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
5,272
Reaction score
11,854
Location
Orlando, FL
Would anyone have asked for another card or folded AA given that half their hand was exposed at the start of the hand? Obviously you always want to start with the best hand possible, but there's something to be said for the table not knowing what half of your holding is. :LOL: :laugh:
Villain knew AA and AK were possible and called your shove anyway.

1621976088821.png
 

Taghkanic

Full House
Supporting Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2017
Messages
3,956
Reaction score
4,000
Location
Hudson Valley, NY
I've never seen nor heard of that.

Me, neither.

First of all, it seems like the flip was the dealer’s “fault.” S/he pitched it in such a way that it flipped just from hitting an object on the table (your fingers). It’s not like you gathered the card in then exposed it accidentally after receiving it.

Secondly, I wouldn’t want to have to make judgement calls on such flips. Could lead to lots of endless, subjective argument. Seems easier to just say any card exposed during the deal while it’s still moving from the dealer is dead.

Thirdly, and anyway, I haven’t heard of such a distinction being in effect (let alone enforced) before.
 

aces

Sitting Out
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
5
Location
ohio
As many others have said I think that it is the dealers fault and you should have been given another card
 

raynmanas

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
2,163
Reaction score
3,222
Location
Massachusetts
i (well, used to) play at foxwoods a lot, and the dealer plainly f'd this hand up. he should have got your first card back before he dealt another card. beyond that, you got your money in good. lol live poker. nh tap tap.
 

JustinInMN

Full House
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
3,736
Reaction score
4,184
Location
Burnsville, MN
Would anyone have asked for another card or folded AA given that half their hand was exposed at the start of the hand? Obviously you always want to start with the best hand possible, but there's something to be said for the table not knowing what half of your holding is. :LOL: :laugh:
I would argue you are always better off with two concealed cards than with half of AA exposed. Playing with an exposed card almost automatically reduces your hand to bluff-catching status.

i (well, used to) play at foxwoods a lot, and the dealer plainly f'd this hand up. he should have got your first card back before he dealt another card. beyond that, you got your money in good. lol live poker. nh tap tap.
Yeah, sounds like dealer saw this card was an ace and decided to make a friendly offer to a friendly player that backfired.

Not exactly right, imo.
 
Top Bottom