Tourney T5 vs T25 base what did I do? (1 Viewer)

Grimalkin

Pair
Reaction score
Hey all, let me prefice this with the fact I’ve been using my old 500pc poker set for probably the better part of 20 years or so. Did a bunch of research on what denominations I should go with 20 years ago, decided on a T5 base with a T1500 starting stack. Always with 5/25/100/500 chips in 20/16/5/1 quantities (I like generous chips on the table)

Well I thought I had researched all I needed to as I’ve been playing the same game setup for 20 years, and went ahead and bought a bunch of royals, which is a major upgrade for me and my home games.

Bought 775 chips to accommodate 15 players at my normal starting stacks (with room for rebuys using T500 and T1000 chips if I need to):
300 red T5
250 green T25
150 black T100
50 (relabeled) blue T500
25 yellow T1000 (just cause I wanted them).

Well now after the fact as I usually do I’ve been back into the research and found this forum which has a ton of great knowledge. Not only have I been rethinking my starting stack (doing a T2000 tourney with 15/13/11/1), but now thinking I made a mistake and should have gone with a T25 base with T10000 tourney built it from there as apparently the blinds flow better with T25?

Am I totally just over reacting to my over researching, is T25 THAT much better than a T5 base? How much are royals worth used typically if I decide to unload my 300 red (oiled) $5 chips? I have a good start on my chip purchase to convert my chips to a T25 base but I’ve been running T5 base so long I feel like I’ll be real uncomfortable with a T25 base blinds…plus I’d have to unload brand new 300 oiled $5 chips at a loss.