Project with Apache Plaques

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
Hi all!

I have a project where I need to separate the layers of an Apache plaque and implant an RFID chip.

I already reached out to them directly and they said they come from a suppler and they can not alter them themselves.

Essentially I need to separate the layers of the plaque and put a chip in the middle and then put them back together.

I am happy to answer questions, but I don't want to deal with hate about the idea.

My question is has anyone done this/ do they have any ideas how to. Not how stupid of an idea this is- I know it is very dumb.

~Koda
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
1615502150441.png
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
This! Depending on the rfid chip you may be able to cut a little out of an edge and insert and plug with epoxy
I love the idea! I need to find the right chip for this- I usually deal with stickers- but I am sure I could find one that would fit!
 

mipevi

Flush
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,756
Reaction score
2,597
Location
Finland
I have been toying with the idea of drilling MSK plaques and inserting lunettes in them... Unfortunately I lack the tools for such a project, but following this one with interest. :D
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
So I know a bit about medical tech/ vet tech- Some of the chips they use are really really small. They have a glass capsule around them... and are sterile. If there was an option to insert this chip without the cost of liability (to an implanted species) or the sterile component- I think we have something here
 

Jackypoo

Pair
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
231
Reaction score
401
Location
Detroit MI
What's the goal? Adding a layer of security? What do you scan with? A phone or a special scanner? Not sure the thickness of these but my first instinct would be to drill a small hole on the side, then insert the chip and fill the hole.
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
What's the goal? Adding a layer of security? What do you scan with? A phone or a special scanner? Not sure the thickness of these but my first instinct would be to drill a small hole on the side, then insert the chip and fill the hole.
I was thinking a USB scanner at 13.56 MHz mainly for higher stakes games where some security would be good. :) I think the drilling idea is what people most think would be best-- although I dont know I can get a drill that would work- but I think I can get a saw that would do exactly what is needed!
 

Jackypoo

Pair
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
231
Reaction score
401
Location
Detroit MI
Very cool definitely follow up with the results I'm always interested in projects that involve power tools.
 

ekricket

4 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
5,414
Reaction score
9,447
Location
Angel Fire NM
What's the goal? Adding a layer of security? What do you scan with? A phone or a special scanner? Not sure the thickness of these but my first instinct would be to drill a small hole on the side, then insert the chip and fill the hole.
For years I thought they were singing jackypoo

 

openwheel

Pair
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
102
Reaction score
71
Location
Ky
What is the thickness of the plaque? Reason I ask is doing machining and tooling work I have used slitting saws that are very thin and could cut from the side or end and insert the RFID ten seal it up.


Mark
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
What is the thickness of the plaque? Reason I ask is doing machining and tooling work I have used slitting saws that are very thin and could cut from the side or end and insert the RFID ten seal it up.
that would be exactly what I think is needed. I was looking into my background (medical media) and into sagital bone saws- but not many people want to just let you take their expensive medical power tools to poker chips XD If you have some sort of sagital saw that could cut maybe 1/2-2/4"

here is the chip I am thinking of using: https://www.adafruit.com/product/28...lXVu_4-KLxojE5N6K9pjfukUyO-_m-NMaAohZEALw_wcB

The trouble is the cut would need to be decently deep. But if we could do around a 1/2" wide and less than 1" deep- I think we are cooking with gas!
 

mnebesny

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
1,039
Location
Toronto, ON
Pretty sure the Apache plaques come from MSK, and I think MSK has RFID offerings for like an extra $0.50 a plaque or something.

I've had my own plaque journey recently:

I want custom plaques. I was thinking of getting some of the ones from Apache, using a solvent to get the text off, and printing my own logos on them, but figured for the price Apache charges plus shipping from America, I'd be farther ahead to just get my own customs from MSK. So I emailed and asked for a set of their "free samples". But they wanted $75 USD to ship the free samples. Long story short, if anyone has MSK samples they don't want anymore, let me know.
 

mnebesny

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
1,039
Location
Toronto, ON
I have been toying with the idea of drilling MSK plaques and inserting lunettes in them... Unfortunately I lack the tools for such a project, but following this one with interest. :D
That's an amazing idea...I guess you could use a hole saw bit on a drill and then fill the hole with epoxy resin or something.
 

mipevi

Flush
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
1,756
Reaction score
2,597
Location
Finland
That's an amazing idea...I guess you could use a hole saw bit on a drill and then fill the hole with epoxy resin or something.
Exactly, shouldn’t be too hard but would probably take a bit of trial and error to get there. Now overlapping triple lunettes of different colors is more of a challenge... :love::LOL: :laugh:
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
Pretty sure the Apache plaques come from MSK, and I think MSK has RFID offerings for like an extra $0.50 a plaque or something.

I've had my own plaque journey recently:

I want custom plaques. I was thinking of getting some of the ones from Apache, using a solvent to get the text off, and printing my own logos on them, but figured for the price Apache charges plus shipping from America, I'd be farther ahead to just get my own customs from MSK. So I emailed and asked for a set of their "free samples". But they wanted $75 USD to ship the free samples. Long story short, if anyone has MSK samples they don't want anymore, let me know.
Any idea how much they charge per plaque to start with? Or their set up fee? I got in touch with MSK and they said they would make them for me with the RFID chips- but if they want $75 for shipping (from what you are saying)... They better have a REAL good deal on this other stuff. LOL

EDIT: They said there was no minimum order in terms of how many plaques
 

spellholly

Pair
Site Vendor
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
178
Reaction score
134
Location
Boston, MA
and update in terms of Dremel, hole saw, side access, epoxy etc... I took a little of each of your ideas and borrowed my mom's Dremel when she was in town, got some cut off disks, went in in the middle of the side of the 100$ Majestic plaque- inserted a tiny little NFC chip and sealed with 5 min epoxy, then sanded down. It worked- but the cut was not even and you can see some transparency on one side of the piece. (just because the plaque is 2 layers of semi transparent plastic and the center is opaque, apparently). (top=unaltered bottom=modified)
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    172 KB · Views: 60

mnebesny

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
1,039
Location
Toronto, ON
Any idea how much they charge per plaque to start with? Or their set up fee? I got in touch with MSK and they said they would make them for me with the RFID chips- but if they want $75 for shipping (from what you are saying)... They better have a REAL good deal on this other stuff. LOL

EDIT: They said there was no minimum order in terms of how many plaques
No idea, I asked about a pricing guide/table a couple times and they were pretty evasive. Said she could give me a quote if I told her exactly what I wanted and how much, but I was more just trying to price things out. Perhaps they do this on purpose so they can give discounts to casinos and charge people like us more
 

mnebesny

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
1,039
Location
Toronto, ON
No idea, I asked about a pricing guide/table a couple times and they were pretty evasive. Said she could give me a quote if I told her exactly what I wanted and how much, but I was more just trying to price things out. Perhaps they do this on purpose so they can give discounts to casinos and charge people like us more
There are lots of members who have MSK custom plaques, perhaps they could shed some light on pricing. @timinater @HMK just off the top of my head
 

HMK

3 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
676
Reaction score
1,560
Location
Sweden
Yeah, i think you unfortunatly kind of have to ask and they will give a price. The more you get (of the same denomination) the cheaper per plaque. The options are extra. They told me that adding both metallic and extra opaque was around $1 extra per plaque and whatever you go for, the opaque option is so worth it.
 

mnebesny

Flush
Supporting Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
1,039
Location
Toronto, ON
Yeah, i think you unfortunatly kind of have to ask and they will give a price. The more you get (of the same denomination) the cheaper per plaque. The options are extra. They told me that adding both metallic and extra opaque was around $1 extra per plaque and whatever you go for, the opaque option is so worth it.
What's the extra opaque option?
 

HMK

3 of a Kind
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2019
Messages
676
Reaction score
1,560
Location
Sweden
Just opaque printing on logos or whatever you want. Otherwise you will have that Mother-of-Pearl-ish effect on that as well. I've done both with and without the opaque option, and I would never consider going without again to be honest.
 
Top Bottom