Input on purchasing a chainsaw (1 Viewer)

Mojo1312

Full House
Reaction score
Woke up to a downed apple tree earlier this week. Need to take down two more apple tress that are more dead than alive. What brand of chainsaw should I place on my shortlist?

1694375127585.png

1694375179398.png

I am a complete novice.

I looked at Ego, but I question whether the technology is there. Not much of a warranty and they are heavier than their gas counterparts.
Don't know why, but I am not really impressed with Echo. On the same note, last year while I was in the hardware store picking up a part for my lawnmower I overheard someone tell his friend that STHL had cheapened the guts of their chainsaws.

A friend of mine recommended Oregon. Never heard of them and there is no dealer around here, but I am not opposed to taking a road trip to pick one up.
Dewalt, any good? Again, no local dealer, so I would need to take a road trip.

Husqvarna? Thoughts?

I could also use a chainsaw to take down poplar trees on another lot I own.

I have owned 5 chainsaws over the years. The first 2 are long gone. The 3rd is a Stihl and I have bought 2 more Stihl's since. All 3 are still working great.

The latest one is a battery powered one and I really like it a lot for anything about the size of your Apple tree or slightly bigger. It's quiet, lightweight and super easy to use as all you do is pull the trigger and it's going. No starting and stopping like a gas one.

Looks like a small job. I’d just get an echo from Home Depot and call it a day. You’re not going to be starting a tree felling business. Don’t forget the chain lube. You tube is your friend for tightening chains and what not.

I'd go electric, unless you it's going to be a primary tool that you use weekly. Electric chainsaws work great for DiYers and folks that need them a couple of times a year.
I agree. For small jobs, theyre great and inexpensive.