First Cash Set Recommendations (1 Viewer)

Davis

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I’m very new to the home poker scene and I was hoping for a bit of guidance / recommendations from you folks.

I just purchased a brand new table for me and my buds to play cash games a few times a month! For now I’ve planned for a full 10 person game, at a 50.00 dollar buy in. My chip break down is as follows;

$10 = 40 x .25

$20 = 20 x 1.00

$20= 4 x 5.00

(Would also like some 10’s or 20’s / 25’s to have in the bank)

Since this will be my first real poker chip set, I was hoping some of you experienced chippers could point me towards a good chip & vendor to purchase from. I am from Canada and would prefer not to pay duties over the border but that’s not a deal breaker.

Some styles I have found and really liked are as follows;

Monaco Millions: https://www.straightpokersupplies.com/poker-chips-sets/monaco-millions-14g-poker-chips.html

Monte Carlo: https://www.straightpokersupplies.com/poker-chips-sets/monte-carlo-14g-chips.html

Crazy Horse (but I can’t find 25 cent chips): https://www.straightpokersupplies.com/poker-chips-sets/crazy-horse-clay-10g-chips-sets.html

I don’t really have a preference on chip material, but it seems clay composite or true clay is the way to go? (Correct me if I’m wrong please lol!)

Hopefully you all can point me in the right direction, any help is appreciated!

Assuming .25/.25 blinds or .25/.50 blinds, each player probably only needs:

12 x .25
16 x $1
6 x $5

Numbers can be adjusted a bit, but you REALLY don't need more than 20 .25 chips per player. So something like:

100-120 x .25
200 x $1
160 x $5
40 x $20 or $25

As far as price for the set. What is your budget? You can get decent plastic chips for about 0.15/chip. Though if you have the budget, getting a "China Clay" from Apache or ceramic chip from ABC for 0.40-0.60/chip is a big upgrade. Always get samples first!

Last edited: