The Ocean Club - Poker Table DIY (2 Viewers)

LeRoi

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hi folks, I’ve been a mostly passive observer of this forum for quite a while now, sucking in all the great info on here. Because there have been a few members helping me on my journey to my (hopefully final) poker table build, I want to share my process and progress now. I don’t think I did or will do a whole lot differently than others, but maybe it encourages more members to go down the DIY route. Trust me, I’m not an expert woodworker (it is a hobby though), so I think almost anyone can do this if you put in the right amount of planning and care during the build.

Background
This is actually my second build. Here is a picture of the first one I did a few years back.

IMG_0389.jpeg

I know, a racetrack table. I can only repeat what so many members on here have said. A wooden racetrack looks great, but it plays terribly. We play about once a month. And while my guests don’t seem to care (we are all casual players and my guests are just happy that we have a ‘real’ table) I’m triggered every time I’m trying to pick up cards.

So, a new table then. And this time I’m not cutting any corners. But what should it look like? A wanted the table to reflect a bit of personal history and fit to my set of CPCs (I never really introduced them here, but here is the design thread. It took me another few years to actually have them made and I lost track of this site back then. Maybe I’ll show them off later). I contacted @timinater about designing a custom cloth. After only a few iterations, we settled on this.
1697575038286.png