League Formula Drawbacks? (1 Viewer)

efdenny

High Hand
Reaction score
I know league points formulas get discussed ad nauseum here, but... wanted get thoughts on the following formula, specifically what drawbacks there may be:

(number of entries / rank)

So for 20 entries:

1st: 20
2nd: 10
3rd: 6.67
4th: 5
5th: 4
6th: 3.33

and so on... TIA

I’ll start - too big a spread between 1st and 2nd imo. For a home game - is winning first worth THAT much more?

Yeah, that was kind of the point... Two 2nds = one 1st, three 3rds = one first, etc

Just trying get the right spread. Right now, a guy with five fifth place finishes is ahead of a guy with two wins... seems wrong, but maybe not?

This is my first time hosting a ranked "season" for our tournaments. We got together and voted on the ranking methodology and we have big spreads between the top finishers and I really don't like it. We made this a short season to test the scheme and I already am going to lobby hard for a tighter spread next season.

This is what we do for a 10 person tourney...

1st: 2xBuy-ins + Rebuys (10 players + 5 rebuys = 25pts)
2nd: 1.5x Buy-ins (10 players = 15pts)
3rd: 1x Buy-ins (10 players = 10pts)
4th: Number at which you busted (6th to bust = 6 points)
5th: Number at which you busted (5th to bust =5 points)
10th: Number at which you busted (6th to bust = 1 point)

How many players do you typically expect?
Do you allow rebuys or add-ons?

I guess Dr Neau's system is my opinion.

We have used many different ones over the years. None of them necessarily right or wrong since everyone has the same chance to collect the structured points.
But if you figure in the variable of Joe winning with a rebuy & 16 players vs Tom winning with no rebuy but 13 players, and Frank finishing 2nd both times but with an add-on etc etc, Dr Neau's is what we have settled on to manage all the variables of what should be better than what.