Fantasy Baseball - League and Player Discussion Thread (1 Viewer)

TX_Golf_N_Poker

Straight Flush
Tourney Director
Supporter
Reaction score
I looked around and didn't see another thread like this, so if I missed it, please let me know with a link.

So who plays fantasy baseball of any type? Legacy or complete annual redraft? Rotisserie, or other scoring method? All MLB or League specific?

I've been playing fantasy baseball since before the internet, if you can believe it!!! Back then you had to mail in your draft lists, your lineups, and you received your weekly results by mail. Yes, it sucked!

I only played a year or two, then quit. Soon after, as the internet was more prevalent, I started playing Yahoo rotisserie. I was huge into that for a few years, often participating in 4-5 leagues each season, usually one with friends, and several public leagues. I did pretty well and won a bunch of championships, but eventually I grew tired of the daily lineup changes that you need to do in rotisserie to maximize your scoring.

Then a friend introduced me to Scoresheet Baseball. WOW! What an improvement over rotisserie! It would take too long to describe all the differences, but some of the highpoints:
  • I play the one league only option - NL
  • 10-12 teams so the rosters get deep. You had better know who the best utility players, 4th & 5th outfielders, and backup catchers are.
  • Each year you keep your 13 best players from last year, plus minors. That's right, I said minors!!! You draft and develop a small farm system!!!
  • After submitting your keeper list, there is a 22 round draft. You lose a pick at the end for every minor league player that you keep, so choose carefully.
  • Once you have your team, you set two starting lineups, one to face righty starters and one to face lefties.
  • You also rank your backups. If a starting position player misses a game or two, the software automatically subs in a backup, based on your rankings.