Is a recession coming? Sell stocks? (1 Viewer)

Maybe find a way to hedge your investment incase the stockmarket suddenly goes down?

I am just a novice investor, so take this with a grain of salt, but I believe that diversification within the stockmarket is not super helpful if something like 2008 happens again.

A small short position, or some sort of options strategy. I only have this in theory, and have no examples lol, but it's something you could look into.

I'm 50 and dont need the money in the near term (I hope!) so I have two strategies outside of my 401k for saving/investing:
1. every paycheck take a slice and invest; diversify across asset classes and industries. plan to hold long term - it will drop some day but it will recover owing to asset price inflation over time. Buying regularly helps insulate you from swings.
2. every paycheck put some money in savings. when the market drops use some or all to big buy on the way down - something blue chip or an index.

Neither of these slices needs to be very big to get some good returns. I managed to put half of my #2 savings fund into dow index etfs near the bottom of the last crash in March and that is up 53% today. That was a bit scary going in but I believed that in my lifetime the market would recover and I would see decent returns. Of course now I wish i had put it all in :)

The rest of my portfolio is creeping along - 50% of my equity investments are in individual stocks that return dividends or dividend-focused funds with reinvestment (definitely weighted towards funds with low expenses vs individual stocks). For a long term hold this is working well as the number of shares grows with the dividend reinvestment and maybe the price will go up over time as well. Sure I'm not tripling my money in the next tech startup but those are needle in the haystack scenarios and single stock picks lose more often than they win in that category IMHO.