How would one develop a new product/software (2 Viewers)

krafticus

Straight Flush
Supporter
Reaction score
I have a general question.

I have an idea for a software package/application for hosting/running/tracking all things poker. I have the "design" sketched out in my head, and have a ton of things that I would like to see in this application. My issue .. I have no software/application design, patent design, etc... or .. well .. any skill or "know how"

If I developed a proof of concept (on paper of course), how could I potentially take this to the next step to get developed? Another major issue of course would be the limited customer base, and knowing that I wouldn't get much of a return on investment, if any at all.

Anyone have any experience in this world? Wondering if this is something that would even be possible.

Thanks

Mark

I have 30 years experience in software development and architecture but am now retired and enjoying it too much to work again.

take a night class, and let this be your project.
yeah, that's not an option. Between March and November, I'm usually booked in the evenings. Not something an hour or 2 per week is going to help with. I've been in the IT world for 25+ years, and this stuff is all over my head (and I don't really like coding)

yeah, that's not an option. Between March and November, I'm usually booked in the evenings. Not something an hour or 2 per week is going to help with. I've been in the IT world for 25+ years, and this stuff is all over my head (and I don't really like coding)
Fiverr then!

Same. Man I wish I liked coding but every time I try to pick it up again I lose interest after less than a week.

Not worth the effort.

In this setup, your best chance would be to utilize something akin to free lance, even better if you can find someone early in their career who enjoys either learning new processes/technologies/tinkering or a small 3rd party provider who regularly turns out minimum viable product platforms/sfws.