Tourney Getting the Band together (2 Viewers)

DeeVee8

Straight
Reaction score
For the last few years, I've been communicating with my players via email, text, e-vite, Facebook and a webpage. I could never get everyone together on one platform and its been a royal pain.

So in the fair weather players thread, @Dodger mentioned using Band. So I started playing around with it and it seems VERY good, has a ton of features. The biggest one for me is live-streaming. My plan is to live-stream my iPad (which runs my tournament timer) so any player can look in. I just have to figure out how to live-stream my screen rather than my camera (evidently prism and obs are good).

I doubt I'll get all my players on it, but being able to live-stream the tournament timer is enough of an incentive to me. At least I can whittle it down to Band, FB and website.

I'll post updates for any curious bystanders and if you have any expertise to lend with OBS, prism or other live-stream screen apps, I'd appreciate it.

giphy.gif

I used BAND for a while. People still sucked at RSVPing. Nothing works. I've given up.
Using Evite, I've got about 2 players (3 if you count me, LOL) who are good about responding on Evite. Maybe a 3rd, but he's had issues in the past. Lots of others suck at RSVPing and it's like herding cats to get something out of them, LOL.

I use Evite as well for our monthly poker night. Everyone who is attending does a good job of responding. The regulars also do a good job responding if they are a 'maybe' or not attending. It's the final dozen on the list that rarely attend (or never attend) that don't respond or even look at the invitation.

Every year I'll clean up the contact list. I don't want to exclude anyone who is interested in playing, but I also don't want someone receiving an invite plus reminders if they really don't have any interest in playing.