Tourney Excel Poker League Spreadsheet (1 Viewer)

Fellow Excel dork here. Some heroes don’t wear capes. You inspire me.

Are you trying to develop and sell? If you’re willing to share with the community or need a tester, I’d be happy to lend a hand.

If it helps, I have a minimal amount of experience with VBA. I’m like you, as a purchasing analyst I wanted to automate some of my repetitive excel work, so I started with the macro recorder, then picked up a VBA book and started googling lines of code to make things dynamic. But what you’ve got here puts my stuff to shame. Well done.

So the biggest bug is that the timer will run slow if you are actively adding names, clicking and changing things in your setup while it's running. If you get it set and leave it to run on the live game screen, there are no issues. Adding a rebuy or entering a finishing position doesn't seem to affect it. It might be a few seconds slow after 15-20 minutes if you have to enter someone's rebuy or finishing place. The VBA is coded using Application.OnTime adding a second every process of the sub. So basically if you are having the spreadsheet calculate a lot of the other features while it's running, it will not stay locked to the second hand and could skip a tick during other calculations. I can't think of a way to code it differently to keep it perfect but a few seconds per 15-20 minutes may never be noticed.

I'm cool with sharing this with those of you that said you'd like to test it. Not sure where I am in turning a profit on something like this. I'd want it to be bug free. Still have to add in the saved stuctures. Personalized POY of Year point systems might be nice too.

I would be happy to look at this. Purely a guess at this point, but I would investigate creating a separate function specifically for the timer.