CPC chips dirty? (1 Viewer)

jrs146

Straight
Reaction score
Hi all,
I ordered a set of CPC sample chips to try and finalize my color choices. This is my first time handling an actual CPC chip so I thought I’d ask. My set seems to be somewhat dirty and discolored. Is this typical of the actual chips or did I happen to just get some chips with dirt/flaws in the samples. Your advice is appreciated.
33B01305-6BA3-435C-9F9B-BF779ADF9A5E.jpeg
97867C93-C2CC-4F17-8D4D-16FBA14D719E.jpeg
A8A76216-E5DC-41E1-9443-274FE6970E22.jpeg
38F2F606-18FA-4F79-B516-8151438706F9.jpeg
6F07A1D7-3ED7-4546-ADA7-3D49B051DE0B.jpeg
C9C707A9-A7E0-4CB3-8D8E-71EEAFF9C85E.jpeg

Yes typical, although maybe not quite that dusty. They come straight off the factory floor. You need to clean off the factory dust. Lots of threads on the topic.

One method is to rinse in clean water then put a cap full of mineral oil into a large bowl. Then put the chips in a strainer and slosh them around a bit in there and let them dry out on some palate towels.

That seems like factory dust to me. I believe there are lots of threads on this, I'd have to look for myself because when my CPC's arrive I'm going to need to clean them...

But I believe a damp microfiber cloth takes the dust right off. And then you can use an extremely small amount, think like one drop of mineral oil, to bring out their colors.

Ok thank you. So if I order 1,000+ chips I should expect to need to clean/oil them to look good? Just want to know what to expect as it’s a considerable investment.
Yes typical, although maybe not quite that dusty. They come straight off the factory floor. You need to clean off the factory dust. Lots of threads on the topic.

One method is to rinse in clean water then put a cap full of mineral oil into a large bowl. Then put the chips in a strainer and slosh them around a bit in there and let them dry out on some palate towels.