Cash Game BEST DENOMINATIONS FOR $20 buy-in with .25/.25 BB-SB (2 Viewers)

Jayflrs

Waiting List
Reaction score
Hello guys! I will start hosting poker games in a few months. I am new to this and I am doing some research of how to go about this. I know that some of the guys that I have talk to feel comfortable with a buy-in of $20. Max $30-40. How many chips do I need for 4-8 people? and what denominations do I need? I am interested of getting some .5c/.10c but my concern is how do we cash those out at the end of the day? Do I need to carry nickels and dimes in my bank box? Do I have to tell the guys to bring change of nickels and dimes? How do you guys go about this? I feel if I get $5 poker chips they won't be used that much with a $20 buy-in? We feel comfortable right now with the BB and SB on .25/.25. I just want to know your opinions on this and any ideas will be greatly appreciated. :)

Generally you need the least of your highest value chips and somewhat less of your lowest value chips. As for whether or not you need $5s, just look at the total value of your chipset and compare that to what you expect the maximum total buy-in could be.

For example, lets say you have 8 players, you buy in for $30, and everyone buys in three times. $30*3*8=$720. So you want your max bank to be at least $720. Getting to $720 with only $1 chips or less isn't very efficient, so we will need $5s.

A small set that gets you over that bank value:

25c x 100 ($25)
$1 x 200 ($200)
$5 x 100 ($500)

Starting amounts you can hand out:

25c x 12 ($3)
$1 x 17 ($17)

As you noted, you won't use $5s for the $20 buy ins. For $30 or $40 you'll want to start incorporating them though, because you'll run out of $1s.