Anyone Ever Get Burned Out on Hosting? (4 Viewers)

Moxie Mike

Full House
Reaction score
I've been running the Moxie Poker League for over 5 years dating back to pre-pandemic days. We kicked off Season 10 of league play last month after the summer break. We play in my corporate office after hours, which is a great setting for private games. During the pandemic, I ran online games using P-Stars' free money tables.

Over the years I've made a lot of good friends and business contacts I wouldn't otherwise have met. But I initially started the league to recruit cash game players, and now that I can consistently fill 7 or 8 seats for mixed games, I'm feeling much less enthusiastic about running the league - to the point that I don't even participate in league events since I much prefer the cash table. I just run the tournaments while I'm playing cash.

Furthermore, the league has kind of taken on a life of it's own to the point where it now feels like an obligation. League events routinely attract 20-25 players and some of the longer tenured players are seeming to develop a sense of entitlement about it. Another thing that I'm finding myself feeling annoyed by is the fact that I'm often contacted by people that I don't know who want to participate or people trying to get their friends into the league when I've clearly articulated a 'First Rule of Fight Club' policy on numerous occasions.

It's also become a burden on my time - anyone who has ever ran a league knows what the requirements are. As my consulting biz has grown, running poker games is a less-than-ideal use of my time.