Training your crew to deal? (2 Viewers)

Nine_high

Two Pair
Reaction score
Hi,

So my last game, I had a new player who literally did not know how to shuffle cards. Someone had to do it for him each orbit. And at the other table, there was a huge kerfuffle over a bunch of all ins because apparently no one over there knew how to manage side pots. I couldn't even unfuck it because by the time I walked over there were just piles of chips mushed around without any way for me to reconstruct the action. I just paused the clock until they sorted it out, and learned even my designated table captain isn't as up to snuff as I thought.

So clearly I want to keep these people in my game but I can't have this sort of thing going on routinely.

Has anyone offered their crew some kind of dealer training session? If so, how did you approach it and how did it go? Was it well received? Was it effective?

I'm not a pro dealer and never have been, but I have been asked multiple times if I used to be one. I generally know what I'm doing at least well enough to teach people from shuffling to pitching to pot management/splitting and action control etc all of it. I have considered being a permanent dealer but frankly it's tiring to do for 12 hours while playing and hosting and I'd rather spend an extra hour here and there working with newbies to get them at least proficient. Not to mention multiple tables would be pretty challenging.

Set some strict ground rules. I do and people bitch at first, but the game and play deteriorates quickly if you don’t maintain order! I start requiring $1 donations to the general fund for repeated play errors (out of turn action, misdeals, splashing the pot etc).

It has been a long time since I hosted multi-table games, so take this for what it's worth.