Tourney Thoughts for small charity church tournament? (1 Viewer)

Larold

Pair
Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm interested in putting on and directing (a legal!) hold'em tourney to help my church raise funds. Assuming they are willing and interested, here are my thoughts. Please throw lots of 'Have you thought of this?' at me.

No idea how much interest it will generate but advertising within the church will be thorough. We will probably limit to members-only on first go through. General breakdown will be 30% complete noobs - 60% casual-but-done-it-before players, and 10% serious players.

I want to make it rebuy-heavy. Decent amount of older folks, so a good chunk of the crowd will likely be tired out after say 5 hours from start of event.

I was originally thinking T2000 stacks, but that would involve T5 or T10 chips, and I read a post (possibly on here?) from an experienced director who observed that casual players and multiples-of-5 get confusing, so I'm willing to do T10,000 chips. (Plus 10k sounds sexy to noobs.)

I've got lots of friends in my poker crowd who would deal for free and be competent at it. 8 players per table, dealers don't play.

Now, the meat of the matter.

I was thinking re-buys all the way up until doing one only gets you like 10 big blinds. Unlimited rebuys until end of rebuy period. Rebuy would be... another 10k in chips? Also want to do add-on; anyone can do add-on at end of rebuy period. Someone here had a grab-bag idea - pay some cash, reach in and grab one chip; assuming it's legal (need to check for my state), what chip denoms and ratios would you recommend in the bag for a starting stack of T 10k? 25 T1k for every 5 T5k for every 1 T10k ?

I'm thinking $20 buy-in, either $15 or $20 for add-on / re-buys, $5 for grab-bag. 50% goes to prize pool.

This would likely be a Sunday afternoon starting shortly after lunch.