Sports Betting with Rainman (1 Viewer)

RainmanTrail

Straight Flush
Reaction score
Well gang, it's about that time of year again. Baseball season is in full swing, and I'll be placing quite a few bets between now and the All-Star break. I've been betting on MLB for two seasons now, and NHL for one season. I've been a consistent winner in all 3 of these seasons, over a span of 250+ games.

As some of you know, I'm a data scientist/statistician that builds predictive models for a living, which are very similar to the models that bookmakers in Las Vegas use to make the betting lines. The models I built for MLB games are entropy maximization based models which leverage webscraped social media data and several other factors to identify profitable betting lines. The model was trained on a dataset that I put together of thousands of games from over 10 years worth of MLB seasons. I ran my model on 5 season's worth of MLB data that it hadn't seen before, and it won in all 5 seasons. Then, 2 years ago, I started betting with my predictive model, and won a few grand the first season, and about $2500 the next season (while averaging about $150 bets per game). I then built a very similar model for NHL games, and it won with a very similar ROI.

I keep a log of my bets on a website that tracks my wins and losses, so you can see my results (which I started logging last year, so unfortunately I don't have the games from my first MLB season in there). But you can clearly see the two seasons worth of data in the graph below from it. The first section from May to July was for MLB, then I stopped betting until NHL season in Nov-Mar. I will be betting from now until the All-Star break as I haven't yet built a model for the MLB after the break (too many things change which break my predictive model after the All-Star break - trade deadline, rookie call-ups, dog days of summer, teams out of contention changing strategies, etc).