Cash Game Looking for advice on running a two table cash game (1 Viewer)

Freeroll

Two Pair
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been running a bi-weekly cash game for about two years now. The way I've been doing it is: the main table has a dealer (my wife) and a shuffletech mounted in the table, and the second table is a self-dealt, self-shuffle table.

Until now, I've been incentivizing players to get here on time by having everyone that gets here before 7:00pm (game start time) is either guaranteed to be at the main table, or if too many are here on time, then the on time players draw numbers and the lowest numbers are at the main table, and the next lowest numbers are first to be moved to the main table, when the tables need to be balanced.

Lately, I've been getting more and more complaints about how some players don't like that they aren't guaranteed to be at the dealer table. I understand these players frustrations, because some of them tip my wife (dealer) very well and they see others that have an equal chance to draw the main table, that don't really tip at all.

Also, I have one player that's been playing here since I first started the game, 2 years ago, that always gets here 15 minutes late. He's a great guy and never misses a game and always tips my wife well, and is a great guy all around. I don't want to punish this player any more than I already do, with the current rules, so I don't want to lower the amount of players at the 2nd table, so they are always playing short handed.

I was thinking about maybe capping the 2nd table at 6 players, until the main table is full. Just looking for any input or advice anyone might have.

Thanks.

Make the main table always be 8 handed minimum. If you get to 12 don’t go to 6/6 etc.

Fill the first table as normal. Once there are enough people for a second table only take from the main table down to 8.