Long-Term Storage (1 Viewer)

I've seen marks left on chips in Paulson racks when stacked. In process of switching all my chips over to Matsui racks.

View attachment 386944View attachment 386945
TLDR: Storing chips in stacks six racks high caused "shine damage" to many of my Pauslon starburst racks, but it's not really that big of a deal if you plan to use your chips regularly.

So I have some anecdotal experience to relate that some may find useful. Unfortunately, I have no pictures to share, but Tommy's photography is no doubt better than what I could manage anyway.

I had thousands of chips stacked in racks from fall 2016 until spring/summer 2022, so just under six years. The racks were all Paulson or 66.7 marked racks, and they were all stacked six high. In fall of 2016 the racks were wrapped in cellophane tightly enough to prevent wobbling, driven for 400+ miles, put into my closet and sat there until I came out of hibernation this spring. The chips were mostly Paulson starbursts and most likely of leaded vintage, although I had a handful of BCC chips in the mix as well. I had no TRKs stacked this way, and only one rack of ASM chips that were in the bottom of my only four high stack. That stack had two Hispania and one BCC rack on top of it, so it was a light stack of three racks on top. All racks had an upside down rack stacked on top. I observed damage with both Paulson and 66.7 racks as the rack above the damaged chips.

Here are my observations:

Paulsons: Most (but not all) racks that were on the bottom level (i.e. five racks on top, for a total of six racks) had some degree of this damage. If a barrel or chip stuck out higher for almost any reason, it almost certainly had damage. The likelihood of damage decreased each rack higher in the stack. I never saw damage on the top rack, and rarely on the rack that was second from the top. Sometimes a rack that was say 3rd from the top would have damage, while the rack that was 4th from the top wouldn't.