How to introduce Bomb pots into home game ? (1 Viewer)

yoke386

Pair
Reaction score
Good evening !

I’m hosting another game on Tuesday and I’ve been thinking about introducing bomb pots into the mix.

I’m relatively new to hosting, this will be my 4th game since April, have a group of about 15 that get the invite and have been playing about 9 handed .25¢/.50¢ NLHEm with $40 buy ins. Usually have a couple re-buys throughout the night but we don’t get more than $500-600 in play.

We start play at about 6 and put the end time for 11. Anyone who wants to play more after is welcomed to stay and play but I like giving people an idea of the amount of time the game will run.

Anyways. Bomb pots. Given our stakes I was thinking about making it a $2 per player pot, and was going to set a timer on my phone for every 45 minutes to play it. This way it will be random enough for everyone’s positions when it goes off.

I’ve actually never played a bomb pot, and am also looking to how you would deal out a Texas hold ‘em style. Based on all the poker YouTube, assuming actions starts to the left of the button (small blind) post flop. Then continues as normal.

Just wanted to get some Bomb pot info from the more seasoned vets of the forum.
Thanks for reading !

Just ask them to play it one time as a trial, you'll be playing them from there on out.

Everyone post $2 then deal out cards as normal. After hole cards are dealt you Immediately burn a card and then peel off 3 cards for the first flop (top board), and 3 more cards for the second flop (bottom board). Then betting resumes to the left of the button, as normal. Burn one, peel two turns. Bet. Burn one, peel two rivers.

Using a bomb pot button is a good way of playing them. When the regular button gets back around to the bomb pot button you play a bomb pot. Then after the bomb pot is completed you play a regular pot hand. After that hand both buttons move. When it gets back around again you do the same, again.