Best airline/flight rewards card please (1 Viewer)

honkydevil

Straight
Reaction score
In effort to maximize value I wanted to ask what the best airline rewards cards you can get are, if you guys have some experience.

My goal is if I use it for work expenses I can earn free flights to Vegas/etc.

To be honest I haven’t done any research but I think I can easily assume someone on here has already figured this out and I’m a noob.

I can tell you it is not the American Airlines reward card. It used to be good, but now you have to basically buy a small house with your credit card to get a flight. (unless you like red eyes)

I loved the South West airlines card when I lived in Nashville (they hub there), but it is much less valuable if there is no hub near you.

I have found I save more with a straight % cash back card and use it to buy a flight.

I love my Southwest card. They normally run a 50k-60k sign up bonus if you spend a certain amount in the first three months. I can get you a referral link if you are interested. Disclaimer, I'd get 10k miles for the referral.

There’s no one size fits all answer. If you are really a point and miles noob, you are probably better off just finding the best cash back card you can.

Depends on where you fly from, what airline you typically fly, how often you fly, etc...

If you're not into the points/miles game, I'd be more inclined to simply recommend a cash back card. There are cards out there that offer 2% back.

Airline cards can be lucrative, but you generally have to fly a good amount and know the ins and outs of the points game.

www.thepointsguy.com is a great place to start if you're interested in investing some time and energy into learning the industry.

Chase Sapphire Preferred.

This would be my general recommendation as well if you are only looking for a single card for travel rewards. Chase points are probably the most flexible (and therefore valuable) out there, and there are usually good sign up bonuses.