400 Chip Break-down (1 Viewer)

z00der

Reaction score
What's up folks, I'm new to the poker chip forum but had a question and figured there will be someone here with some good advice.

I'm planning on buying some semi-custom poker chips soon and wanna make sure I am getting the right break down, with the pricing on the chips I want, I'm looking to buy around 400 chips, and want to get 5 colors (they wont have denoms printed on them so we can change based on the stakes) or 4 colors if that works better. Anyone have a recommended way to break down 300-400 chips into 5 or 4 colors? how many of each? (usually running home games 6-9 handed)

first of all, welcome!

second, nobody can answer without knowing what stakes do you play? cash/tournament?

nobody can answer without knowing what stakes do you normally play? cash/tournament?
Cash games, stakes of 10/20 cents blinds ($20 buy-in) to like 0.5/1 dollar blinds ($100 buy-in), large variation based on who is playing.

Gotten two responses asking for my stakes, sorry about leaving that out: Cash games, blinds of 10/20 cents ($20 buy-in) to like 0.5/1 dollar blinds ($100 buy-in), large variation based on who is playing. Very casual

What stakes will you play right now?
Cash games, blinds of 10/20 cents ($20 buy-in) to like 0.5/1 dollar blinds ($100 buy-in), large variation based on who is playing. Very casual

Tough to say without knowing games, stakes, and number of players.
400 chips is probably not enough for a full 9 seat table, though it probably can be done.
Most people come in here asking questions about no limit Holdem - so a big bet cash game. But for all we know, you could be playing tournaments, limit mixed games, short-handed - who knows?

Welcome!

Once we know what kind of game you play, we can help alot better. There are a few really cool spreadsheets and tools on here for figuring out how many chips you need. I'll try and link a couple and/or copy and paste them.