Tourney I gon' goofed. 7 Card Stud Tourney help (1 Viewer)

Rakrul

Straight
Reaction score
Background info:
I've ran a single table, live poker league for a number of years. When the pandemic hit, the guys wanted to continue online so we tried Stars and ended up with Poker Mavens which is a great success.
So in an attempt to get my players interested in something else than NLHE I introduced them to PLO where 3 of 9 online tourneys were PLO (rebuy). A new online season is about to start and my plan is to have 3 tourneys with NLHE (rebuy), 3 with PLO (rebuy) and finally 3 with 7 Card Stud. Thing is - I have no experience with it. Great plan, I know.

It's obviously played as fixed limit, so should I really care about rebuys? The NLHE starts with a 5k and the rebuy limit is 5k so most players starts with 10k. I guess I could do something similar, but should I?
We aim for the tournament to last for 3 hours, where the first 1 hour 20 minutes are rebuy periods. The structure starts slow, then really aggressive to thin the herd and then slow-ish to allow for some short handed play. Part of the reason is that when you rebuy, you shouldn't start with 15BB or whatever.

My other big issue is the structure - how to make a fixed limit tournament last for about 3 hours? Anyone have any experience here? Obviously rebuys and add-ons makes this harder to plan but on NL and PL games I've hit pretty good so far - for fixed limit I really don't know.

Any input, experience, things to keep in mind, etc. is very welcome.

How many players are you?
could you post the structure?

I have a lot of live Home Game Stud Hi experience and I play 3-4 times a week the 7 card Stud daily tournament on Stars. Maybe I can help.

How many players are you?
could you post the structure?

I have a lot of live Home Game Stud Hi experience and I play 3-4 times a week the 7 card Stud daily tournament on Stars. Maybe I can help.
We're usually 6-8 players.