How to host a home tournament. (1 Viewer)

Mesnik44

3 of a Kind
Supporter
Reaction score
Recently there have been a few posts about hosting a home game. I thought it would be a nice idea to share how I host at Hitmen Poker.

First - I'm not a professional host, nor do I play one on television.
Second - These are my own thoughts and ideas, and do not represent the one and only way to host.

Cost to host a tournament:
Well not to point out the obvious, you need to spend some money on chips, cards, and a playing surface.

Table:
If you are starting from scratch, I would highly recommend a table topper. I've seen these run from $35 to $99. They are both inexpensive and well worth the cost. You can roll these up and store them fairly easy.
If you want to have a table that you would like to be a permanent fixture they will range in price from $199 to unlimited. @T_Chan (ChanmanPokerTables) makes an extremely nice and totally customizable table. Expect to pay between $800 and $4,000. In my own opinion, well worth the price. The workmanship is out of this world and I promise you will not be disappointed.

You will also need 8 to 10 chairs. Try to make these as comfortable as you can. Remember you and your players may be sitting on these for up to 6 to 8 hours. I really lucked out and got Gasser-like chairs from a hotel that wanted to rid themselves of 200 of them. These were used in their conference rooms. My understanding is Costco and Amazon sell fold-able cushioned chairs for cheap.
$99 - $4,000
Cards: