Experimenting with a DIY RFID Table and Broadcast Overlay (4 Viewers)

Well, I for one am damp in all the right places over this little thread. Kudos to all the smart people on board. I've been dabbling with a similar idea for a blackjack table. Good luck, I'm watching with wonder!

I was doing research on this topic and stumble on this thread. I’m a full stack web developer if you need resources in this area. My tech stacks are different than what you are using (.Net, MSSQL, SignalR, React) but willing to learn to contribute.

The project will be open source and available on github once we reach a release version. In that, you'll have all the info you need to have the hardware produced by the PCB manufacturer of your choice and the corresponding software will be available on github as well (along with source code).

There are still enough variables at this point that I'm not comfortable throwing specific cost numbers around so I'll just say that an entire setup should be pretty affordable, especially as compared to existing solutions. I'd further generalize by saying that the cost of building this RFID setup into a table should be a fraction of the cost of your typical table build.

--

Work being done of the rfidReader firmware, focusing lately on the captive portal that'll be used for initial reader configuration (connecting to wifi and pointing the reader's websocket connection to the rfidServer software):

View attachment 1192884

...and a little work being done on the rfidServer portal:

View attachment 1192885

Like I mentioned before, I have about zero UI creativity so we're just customizing a w3css template for now.

Hardware wise, still waiting on the new antennas from OshPark. Might start working on v0.3 of the rfidReader hardware which will focus on a better layout and implementing fixes/lessons learned from the previous two versions.