NYC Illegals Mixed Set - A Rounders Tribute (2 Viewers)

BamaT8ter

Full House
Reaction score
Every now and then, friendships pay off in the chipping hobby. As some of you know, I'm an attorney. During my time in law school and in my law practice, I've made some friends with ties to NYPD and have some friends who both prosecute and defend criminal cases around NYC. It eventually occurred to me to start asking them about illegal card rooms that get busted and what happens to the chips after the cases are over. Eventually (and I promise nothing criminal took place), it led to a score (in two parts).

The first part of that score arrived a little over a month ago.

First Box.jpg

The second arrived today.

Second Box.jpg

Together, the two pieces allowed me to put together a nice mixed set of 312s on the roman mold. All of the chips come from now defunct illegal and quasi-legal games that ran in NYC back in the 1990s and early 2000s. At least one of these games was shut down by NYPD. Others were not. Here's the set together:

Entire Set.jpg
Low Denoms Set.jpg

High Denoms Set.jpg

Here's some more detailed photos of the faces:

Barrels Group.jpg

Woodside.jpg
Goulash Joint.jpg
Vorshays.jpg
Smoke Shop.jpg
Judges Game.jpg

Swan Meadow.jpg

I hope you all enjoy these (and the inside joke) as much as I do. Thanks for looking!

**EDIT**

As some of you have figured out, the chips are not *actually* original NYC illegals. Instead, they are a tribute to the movie Rounders. Each denomination in this "mixed" set is a chip for a poker game either shown or referred to in the movie.
  • $1: In the initial scene of the movie, when Knish gives Matt the office, he says "Maybe this is a game can be beat. But you know you can beat the 10/20 at the Chesterfield and the hi-low at that 'goulash joint' on 79th Street."