Would you chop evenly three way with a big chip lead? (1 Viewer)

Maybe it’s the American in me, but I generally hate the idea of chopping a tournament and even more dislike the fact that it is often expected and or pressured.
Nope, don't think that your nationality is a factor. I would have preferred to play, and everyone said a few times that if anybody didn't want to chop then we could keep playing, so there wasn't huge pressure. But there definitely was a preference among the rest of the group to get to the cash game, so I figured that access to future earnings outweighed immediate gains and possible image damage.

Maybe it’s the American in me, but I generally hate the idea of chopping a tournament and even more dislike the fact that it is often expected and or pressured.
giphy(4).gif

As a pro I would've told them I play to win and they can take their chop and stuff it!!
ROTFL - that would have been right out of the book "How to piss off an established group and not get invited back". :ROFL: :ROFLMAO::ROFL: :ROFLMAO::ROFL: :ROFLMAO:

Maybe I'll wait a few games before I pull that one out of my bag and lay it on the table.

Nope, don't think that your nationality is a factor. I would have preferred to play, and everyone said a few times that if anybody didn't want to chop then we could keep playing, so there wasn't huge pressure. But there definitely was a preference among the rest of the group to get to the cash game, so I figured that access to future earnings outweighed immediate gains and possible image damage.

Yeah I understand what you did and why you did it. I would have done the same given the circumstances. But I just don’t get the preference. Why play tournament if everyone wants the leaders to chop. I want to see who can win it. Heads up or three way play is an important skill of strategy. If you are so hurried to get the cash game going don’t bust out so early. Sit there and think about your play. Or get another table.