Windows 10

Tommy

Royal Flush
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
14,694
Reaction score
22,903
Location
USA
Windows 10 comes out this week. Anyone planning to upgrade?
 

Poker Zombie

Royal Flush
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
13,043
Reaction score
23,700
Location
Nashville-ish
My desktop is approaching it's 5 year old mark - usually time to upgrade. I am tempted to upgrade it to 10, and test drive it before purchasing a new system that may be stuck with Vista-like quality.

Also, is upgrading every 5 years wasting money?
 

AKA_Tattoo

Sitting Out
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
41
Reaction score
22
Location
Tennessee
I'll probably go with 10 on my "test" laptop, if I like it I'll upgrade the rest of the machines, if not we'll stick with 7 a while longer.
 

guinness

Flush
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
1,252
Reaction score
1,752
Location
Hard Luck Herotown
For one of my machines with windows 8.1 I'm definitely upgrading. Its free for those with licensed 7 or higher for the first year of 10. I have a machine with 7 that will stay 7 because I don't want to be tech support for 4 girls living in my house who use it.
 

manamongkids

Full House
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
4,398
Reaction score
3,479
Location
Usa
agreed with guinness, 8 and 8.1 are garbage, but if you have windows 7, i would stick with it
 

CHP TD

Flush
Joined
Aug 13, 2013
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
825
Location
Canberra - Australia
Beware of the test version of windows 10 it sends heaps of data home. have a look at their privacy statement. Like seriously read it. the version to market may be better but it still phones home.

g
 

CdnBeerLover

Full House
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
4,204
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Ottawa, ON Canada
In my case
- my laptop is a dual boot Win 7 / Debian Linux machine. If it wasn't for the Linux-incompatible sound card, I wouldn't use Win7 on it at all.
- my wife's is a Win 7 machine
- my spare desktop is a Win 7 / Debian machine.
- each of my sons have a Win 8.x machine (one steadfastly refuses to connect to the Windows Store, so it hasn't been upgraded to Win8.1 yet). And you need Win 8.1 in order to upgrade to 10. I have to say, Win 8 is a royal p-i-t-a.

I'll upgrade mine first to see where the hiccups are. Once I bend that one to my will, the others will follow. And if I hate it, I'll restore back to Win7.

The rest of the PC's are either running XP or Debian, and will remain that way.
 

tommythecat

Flush
Joined
Nov 3, 2014
Messages
1,475
Reaction score
922
Location
Homer Glen, IL
There are some great articles on gizmodo.com about Windows 10. Worth checking out if you are thinking about upgrading.
 

lnlver

Two Pair
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
447
Reaction score
389
Location
Level 42
I'm using Windows 7 on my laptop; have no intentions of changing. 7 is actually the most stable version of Windows since 31, in my opinion. I have had no problems whatsoever with it, and knowing Macrocrap's marketing strategy of putting out a new operating system that isn't even 95% bug free, I don't want to go through the hassle of dealing with one of their so-called upgrades.
 

Poker Zombie

Royal Flush
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
13,043
Reaction score
23,700
Location
Nashville-ish
I can't agree more. DOS, 3.1, then 7. I still want DOS. I'm often tempted to partition and go back to Linux, but I'm not as tech savvy as I was in 1990, and software... yes... software.
 

guinness

Flush
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
1,252
Reaction score
1,752
Location
Hard Luck Herotown
The reviews are awesome about Windows 10. Barring any stop ship reports in the next week, I'm upgrading all machines in my house. The ongoing theme is no learning curve and ease of use for 7+ users.
 

grandgnu

A new beginning
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
1,523
Reaction score
338
Location
Tampa FL
I'm sticking with Windows 7 for the moment, but have registered my free upgrade to Win 10 so after it's been out awhile and field tested I have the option of moving to the new version.
 

CdnBeerLover

Full House
Joined
Apr 29, 2013
Messages
4,204
Reaction score
2,241
Location
Ottawa, ON Canada
I'm sticking with Windows 7 for the moment, but have registered my free upgrade to Win 10 so after it's been out awhile and field tested I have the option of moving to the new version.

+1.

I've registered it on all of the machines, but only mine will go to Win10. Once I'm comfortable with it, the others will be upgraded.
 

Tommy

Royal Flush
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
14,694
Reaction score
22,903
Location
USA
I'm going to do a back up today and make the jump.
 

Tommy

Royal Flush
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
14,694
Reaction score
22,903
Location
USA
Upgraded to Windows 10. Things are laid out much better IMO and boot up and shut down is much faster on my system. So far so good.

win10-screen.png
 

Tommy

Royal Flush
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
14,694
Reaction score
22,903
Location
USA
I just found my first problem but I figured it out and its now fixed. If you have Office 2013 installed and you upgrade to Windows 10, you may not be able to activate windows. It will keep saying 'Windows Can't Activate, Try Again Later' and give you an error code (0xC004F034). I did some searching and everyone thinks the problem is with MS activation servers. Turned out I had to repair/re-install my Office and then re-enter my serial number for it. After I rebooted, Windows was activated.
 

Forty4

Full House
Tourney Director
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
4,121
Reaction score
4,030
Location
Rochester, NY
Well I got a new machine two weeks ago and get the free upgrade. I'm sure I'll do it but everything I touch as of late turns to shit and pisses me off.
 

BGinGA

Royal Flush
Tourney Director
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
25,221
Reaction score
38,454
Location
Atlanta
The new Edge browser looks promising, once they allow extensions.
 

chipjoker

Flush
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
2,275
Reaction score
1,957
Location
California
I will be updating this weekend on my 2 in 1, I will let you know how it goes..
I will remember to opt out of some of the settings that BGinGA's link talked about..Thanx for the heads up.
 
Top Bottom