Tourney Why do Dealers...

jbutler

Royal Flush
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
10,669
Reaction score
10,628

yeah pretty much this. since it's the rule, in deference to the players, they leave it to them to decide whether to insta-flip 7th or to slow peel. sometimes you'll see players direct the dealer to deal 7th face up and the dealer will get into the rhythm when they know the players' wishes. happened in one of the HU matches this year - razz maybe? - but it's rare.
 

stocky

Full House
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
4,293
Reaction score
3,284
Location
The Wall
I think it is more so that the players can mix the cards so their opponents won't know what their starting two were.
But in an all in situation wouldn't the hole cards be face up already?
 

Bloody Marvelous

3 of a Kind
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
592
Reaction score
555
Location
Gouda, The Netherlands
Because hole cards are never dealt face up. They would also deal the hole cards face down in Hold'em when it's down to the last two, and the shortstack is all-in in the blind before the cards are dealt. It's up to the players to turn the cards face up.

I'm guessing it's to prevent giving the dealer the chance to manipulate the deal.
 

Mental Nomad

Full House
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
3,640
Reaction score
2,452
Location
NJ - NY/NJ metro area
Why do dealers give the 7th card face down when 2 players are all in in any Stud game?

Also because the rule says that the river card is dealt face-down... proper is proper.

Also, doing it properly avoids confusion for a floor person that might be watching from afar, or the eye in the sky, who may miss the fact that they're all-in, and think they've just seen a dealer error. They'd probably realize in a moment, but why cause unnecessary reactions?
 

Poker Jedi

Pair
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
173
Reaction score
47
Location
ellsworth maine
Also because the rule says that the river card is dealt face-down... proper is proper.

Also, doing it properly avoids confusion for a floor person that might be watching from afar, or the eye in the sky, who may miss the fact that they're all-in, and think they've just seen a dealer error. They'd probably realize in a moment, but why cause unnecessary reactions?
One thing to remember is that unless this is a home game the dealer is dealing to 3 party's at all times the player, the supervisor and survalence
 

10centguitar

Two Pair
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
353
Reaction score
149
Location
Texas
Remember also that tournaments are new compared to cash games.

In this case of a tourney, it seems like a moot point to deal 7th street facedown.

In a cash game, Only the aggressor has to show, even if both hands are all in. Here it is obvious why the card is dealt facedown.

Dealers are taught to do one thing for both circumstances if possible.

I really feel this is the way it should be in a tourney too.
The way I see it, collusion doesn't happen often enough to justify giving up the rights of the caller.

It just gives away free information to the entire table.
Something that will happen far more often than two all-in players colluding.
 

10centguitar

Two Pair
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
353
Reaction score
149
Location
Texas
Its kind of like, why does the dealer deal out the turn, river, or both in holdem when the players are all-in and 1 is drawing dead.

Because the player is not technically drawing dead.

If player 1 has quad aces and player 2 has a pair of 2's then player 2 is drawing dead true, but if the dealer produces a 5th Ace on the turn or river or any card that shows that the integrity of the deck was compromised then the hand is disqualified, and all monies returned. (highly unlikely) but they still run the precaution.
 

abby99

Full House
Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2013
Messages
3,780
Reaction score
5,641
Location
In seclusion
Its kind of like, why does the dealer deal out the turn, river, or both in holdem when the players are all-in and 1 is drawing dead.

Because the player is not technically drawing dead.

If player 1 has quad aces and player 2 has a pair of 2's then player 2 is drawing dead true, but if the dealer produces a 5th Ace on the turn or river or any card that shows that the integrity of the deck was compromised then the hand is disqualified, and all monies returned. (highly unlikely) but they still run the precaution.

Good point. Also, dealers make mistakes (Don't we all?) and shouldn't be relied on to determine whether a player is drawing dead. I can see it now -- dealer declares player B is drawing dead and sweeps the board into the muck before anybody can point out that player B does indeed have one or two outs.
 

10centguitar

Two Pair
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
353
Reaction score
149
Location
Texas
A dealer at a casino would also never say someone is drawing dead, or announce someone holds the nuts. They would simply proof the hand that wins against the losing hands, muck the losers, push the pot then muck the winner.
 

stocky

Full House
Joined
May 6, 2013
Messages
4,293
Reaction score
3,284
Location
The Wall
A dealer at a casino would also never say someone is drawing dead, or announce someone holds the nuts. They would simply proof the hand that wins against the losing hands, muck the losers, push the pot then muck the winner.

Come to my local casino. You'll see dealers calling regs hands before they showed it.
 
Top Bottom