Who is using a NAS to play MKV files. (1 Viewer)

crussader

Flush
Reaction score
If the thread title makes sense to you, perhaps you can help me out. That's what I'm looking to do, but could use some advice on how to do it.

Synology NAS setup here, and one of my big use cases is exactly what you're asking.

There's a multitude of variations on the client side however and I have no idea what you have in mind. For me, I'm exclusively streaming the files via CIFS(Samba/Windows network file sharing protocol) as well as AFP(Apple file sharing protocol) to Windows and Mac clients which play them using VLC. I have also tried Synology's Android apps and successfully streamed a MKV to my phone and played it there, but I rarely if ever do that. (I have no experience with set-top boxes or other minimal "just media streaming" devices that are hooked up directly to a TV.)

No special super-fancy configuration required for that. Just enable the respective file sharing protocol in the NAS settings, establish the connection from the client computer and open the file. It's as if the file was saved on your local hard drive.

My goal is simple. I've got a bunch of MKV encoded movies (about 2000), and I want to play them on my TV. Nothing more (except that I would like forced subtitles to work correctly).

In the past, with my dumb TV, I had 2 NAS boxes feeding a Mede8er unit which fed an AV Receiver and on to the dumb TV. Now I have a 4K smart TV, my NAS units are wearing out (after 8 years of service), and I'm looking to start fresh with the latest technology.

I'm ordering a DS220+ with 2 WD Red 10 TB drives. For now the TV is a 2019 model Samsung QLED. I was going to get a new media box, but doesn't look like that's the way things are done anymore (and there aren't any out there that do forced subtitles correctly)..

There is a DS app for smart TVs that should take care of your problem as long as tv and NAS share same network