The Nurse's Station (1 Viewer)

JMC9389

Royal Flush
Supporter
Reaction score
Manufacturer: @SUN-FLY Poker Chips

Inlay Designer: @timinater

The Story: I've been in medicine my entire working career. I started out as a medical assistant as a 14 year old taking vital signs, pulling charts, filing lab results, and weighing my father's patients in his office over the summers for some spending/poker money. I did this through college for 7 or 8 years until I graduated nursing school. I took up a part time position as a telemetry technician while I was looking for full time work. I worked as a bedside nurse for almost 8 years before I graduated with my masters degree to become a nurse practitioner, which I've been doing for the past two and a half years and counting.

The inlays signify two symbols pertinent to the theme of medicine, the caduceus and the stethoscope. The former is an object that represents healing across the spectrum, while the stethoscope is the primary assessment tool used by medical providers across the board, from bedside nurse to nurse practitioner to physician. The EKG strip rolling edge is a call back to my first "real" job as a telemetry technician and as an ongoing symbol of my telemetry and ICU nursing background, and even today where being able to interpret EKG and rhythm strips could mean life or death for some.

I was going for an Abbiati inspired design theme with the text on the chip face and the red cross artwork on either side of the face of the chip. The yellow workhorse chip was made simply to have hundreds of yellow chips on the table at once, with the red and black edge spot colors a callback to the colors of my nursing school. The black value chip was just made simply because I fell in love with the design of the Park Place $100, nothing more.