Strategy Books (1 Viewer)

CaptainR93

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hey all! I love playing poker but I would definitely say that I am a novice when it comes to the game. I watch some vloggers on YT and have learned some but it can be a bit daunting. That being said, sometimes a you just need a good book to study. I wanted to reach out and ask for your opinions on which books would be best to start out on for learning poker strategy. Thanks!

First book I ever read was Miller, Sklansky & Malmuth’s Small Stakes Hold-Em.
Although it’s focus on limit, it has all the introduction to the game and an everything needed to think about while playing.
It’s a big book, take your time....

Thank you all for your suggestions, I can’t wait to check these books out.

For those who may have read a book on Limit first, did you find it more helpful to go reading a limit book first to NL, or do you wish you read a NL first, or does it really not matter?

Getting started in hold em by ed miller. Teaches all the basics, as well as give you a solid foundation no matter what game you gravitate too.

To those new to poker, I always suggest "The Theory of Poker" by Sklansky.

Have you read "The Theory of Poker Applied to No-Limit" by any chance? Been wondering how good that one is since it seems like an update of the classic with NL in mind rather than limit.

I have that book @splice42 its good but honestly the original explains the concepts in much greater detail, i would get that between the 2.

Have you read "The Theory of Poker Applied to No-Limit" by any chance? Been wondering how good that one is since it seems like an update of the classic with NL in mind rather than limit.
No I have not read that one. Though, I have a huge resource of I think 50 pdfs of various poker books. Can't remember who I got them from, but I still haven't read them all yet.