Sharp edges with excess material? (1 Viewer)

Slavioso

Reaction score
Hello all,

I recently bought these poker chips from this American seller (I am based in the UK) and they are China clay composites. They arrived today and the edges are sharp and have a lot of excess material which isn’t great.

I am wondering if this is a common theme with China clay composites, or have I been dealt an unlucky set of chips. Also is there a way to get rid of this without damaging the chips?

I have been playing for a few years at basic level and this is my first set of “nice” chips, I like smooth chips that sit well.

I’ve attached a photo to show you what I mean.

Thank you

Attachments

• 7A9B67C1-9DBB-46A6-AC6C-12CF53FE49A9.jpeg
    7A9B67C1-9DBB-46A6-AC6C-12CF53FE49A9.jpeg
    102.1 KB · Views: 404
Those don't seem like china clays; those look like 13g hard plastic slugged chips. And, no, that crap on the edges is not supposed to be there.

Those are injected molded plastic slugged chips not china clay. Quality is about what is expect for that chip. We can recommend lots of other options for you depending on budget.

like said above those are not what we consider chian clay, those are ABS chips with a slug.

Excess material on those is not unheard of. rub them on any rough material like demin it should smooth it some

Last edited:
You can use a green dish scrubber (brillo pad?) and it'll clear off all the flashing. It'll also actually give the edges a nice texture after doing so as well.

Those don't seem like china clays; those look like 13g hard plastic slugged chips. And, no, that crap on the edges is not supposed to be there.
fair point, might have been had here!

Those are injected molded plastic slugged chips not china clay. Quality is about what is expect for that chip. We can recommend lots of other options for you depending on budget.