Paulson Chips Value (2 Viewers)

mnebesny

Flush
Reaction score
Would there be any reason why Paulson chips would decrease in value other than wear? I'm new to PCF and want to get a Paulson set, but want to to retain some value incase I want to sell and get a larger/different set down the road. Any advice/suggestions?

If you are anything like most of us you will probably change your mind over time. I've been buying/selling chips as I continuously change my mind for a few years now. There's been a few outliers, but in general +- 10%/transaction. Mostly I think the postman makes money off the situation.

The only thing I think would significantly decrease the value is if:
1) Supply changed: The manufacturer started selling customs to everyone at something close to their manufacturing cost (not currently available to the public)
2) Demand changed: Macroeconomic turmoil caused a larger economic downturn altering spending power

Popularity/trend: there's some new hotness that everyone wants instead of what you have
Demand: if the population of people playing home-poker diminishes, there will be fewer buyers with more options
Desperation: if you need to sell your chips NOW, you may not get the right buyer willing to pay for them
Damage: if the chips are damaged (during cleaning, for example) they will be less desirable than an undamaged equivalent
Reputation: if the community decides they don't want to buy from you, the pool of buyers shrinks considerably

Another thing to consider if you are not basing your purchases in USD, is that ALL purchases on PCF are based on USD. Drastic changes in exchange rate can affect price more than the whims of desirability.

This comes from someone who was out for years and decided to start buying again during the Pandemic. :banghead: