No shopping... (1 Viewer)

Darson

Full House
Supporter
Reaction score
All things considered, I have a reasonable income, however over the last couple of years we have been living month to month. There is only one reason for this - shopping. After all the bills are paid every month (including double mortgage payments and groceries), I'm left with about half my monthly paycheck and it all goes to shopping and restaurants.

Then I read this: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/15/opinion/sunday/shopping-consumerism.html

I decided that something needs to be done. I'm not good at moderating myself, it's all or nothing for me. So I've decided "no shopping" for a month to see what happens.

I started on Feb 20th (end of last months credit card period) and it's HARD! All these lovely chippies coming to market and I can't buy them (I'm not counting the Matsui GB as these were committed way before). Not to mention no clothes and other toys.

But so far I'm staying strong. Amazon must be thinking I've died. I keep putting stuff in the cart but not clicking buy. The best part is that I convinced my wife to "no shop" with me too! I'm proud of her - she went to Target yesterday and didn't buy anything. I think I'm gonna make it to 20th March and there will be a nice fat lump of cash in my bank account to show for it.

One thing about "no shopping" is that I have learned that I mostly buy a lot of crap that I don't need - this is easy to cut out - but there are a few things that I do need and this is a bit harder to live without. I think next month we'll give ourselves a small sum of shopping money for the essentials.

I appreciate the honest self assessment. There are some many things that we can become addicted to in life. My wife and I love very simply, and have found great benefits from it. I hope that you are able to return to saving again soon!

John