Newbie looking for home game chips (1 Viewer)

gmansbu

Pair
Reaction score
So I’m a newbie to the chip community. I want a “cool” set for my home game. I don’t really have a budget if I fall in love with a set. Ideally I’d stay under $2k. We have between 8-10 players at my home cash game. Currently we play with 1s, 5s, and 25s. I’m assuming 500 chips will be enough to start. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. Here are some of the sets im looking at -
  1. Rounders replica
  2. Tropicana Evansville
  3. CDI98 THC
  4. Fun Nites
Thanks!

With no budget AND such a wide variety of potential interests, I'm going to go with the old saw: get samples! Preferably a few per style of chip. It's the only way to really get a feel for what you like, what you can tolerate for aesthetic purposes, and what you hate. You can do it a set or a rack at a time while you figure it out like a lot of us do (myself included), or you can be a bit smarter and take advantage of a wide range of samples to dial in what you like.

I'd be happy to send you a few chips to sample, but I don't have any CPCs, plastics, or THCs currently on hand and all of your shortlist chips fall into those categories. I'm sure someone can put together a little sample set or even a loaner shuffle stack of some of these for you, though!

EDIT: I dug around and found this thread that was living in the back of my mind - https://www.pokerchipforum.com/thre...-for-new-chippers-see-inside-for-rules.52550/

What are your game's stakes? I'll have to check with another one of the local PCF'ers here first, but I may have a CDI '98 set that I'd be willing to let go of to a NJ local at below current market rates. My set is 100 50 cent chips, 200 $1's, 200 $5's. If you use $25's in your game, those are probably the easiest to find around here. I'd like to hold onto the upper denoms that comprise my tournament set for now.