New to the hobby! (1 Viewer)

UncleMarlin

High Hand
Reaction score
Hi y'all! I've been playing poker casually for a few years but haven't given much thought to the chips until our games started picking up in the last few months. I'm the guy that does a ton of research whenever he buys something to (attempt) to thwart purchase regret, though I've found this hobby and community really interesting, so here I am to stay. Probably going to pull the trigger on a set of 400 clay dunes to bring our 6-8 player game an extra level. I really like the idea of some CPC Atlantic Club hot stamps or some of the cheaper Paulsons, but would rather get something a little more disposable (and far cheaper) now and maybe buy a smaller set of those when I sort of know what I'm doing and what to look for. Thanks for building an interesting community and I look forward to being apart of it!

Hi and Welcome!

If you haven't heard it already - it is recommended to "get samples" of anything you are considering buying to see if you like them in person.
Just some food for thought..
There are ALOT of options in the same price range as the Dunes China clays.
Ceramic chips might be a good option to look into if you haven't already.
Look at the Group Buys that have been done on the forum for different chips.

Cards Mold chips are pretty nice for the price.
https://www.pokerchipforum.com/threads/cards-mold-showcase.69344/

You can also check out companies like Sunfly, BRPRO..

CPC/Paulson will be a big step up in quality, look and feel, etc compared to the Dunes and China clay in general.
Some used (and some new) Paulsons can still be found in the $1 per chip range.

thread comparing different China Clay chips (like the Dunes):

https://www.pokerchipforum.com/threads/china-clay-chips-comparison.69551/

New CC (china clay) chips will not hold their value once purchased.