New Member - Hooked Already, Working on Custom Designs (1 Viewer)

TheLemursReturn

3 of a Kind
Supporter Plus
Reaction score
[This is a bit of a wall of text but I think I've noticed that you all don't mind that much here. Thanks for having me!]

I've enjoyed casual poker since I was a kid. Kicked off my first home league a few months ago. Realized that I love going DEEP into the rabbit holes of chip breakdowns, tournament structures, best playing cards etc etc. I've been pouring at least ~40h per month into researching, watching YouTube, spreadsheeting my numbers, and fooling around with custom chip design ideas.

Yes - as soon as I realized custom chips are a thing, the quest began. It will take me several more months to finalize designs, save up the scratch (I really need to cash in my league - fingers crossed), and place the actual order. But I'm here now to begin that process and get input from all you fine folks.

As a newbie, I don't think I can post any designs yet. But here's my latest the plan in text form:

I want to tread the very fine line between classic and playful. It won't be easy and I might fail. The Super Poker World chips caught my eye and I'll be taking some cues from there. But I want to weave in some more classic elements like traditional edge spots, a molded chip, and bright-but-pastely colors.

The theme will be something like "Extremely Iconic Icons". I want a character/logo/icon for each chip that everyone from grandpa to grandkid will instantly recognize. Think Batman, Pepsi, Pacman, Bugs Bunny, etc. Mario would also fit the bill, but I don't want to steal too much from the other set. Other Nintendo characters would generally NOT fit the bill, because I'm looking for the most iconic of all icons. My dad would not know who Koopa Troopa is.

Each icon also needs to pass my own "exciting" test. Athletes, sports teams, and bands tend to fail that test.