New here - not a heavy poker player, but use chips for board games (1 Viewer)

bachismyhero

Sitting Out
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a sysadmin / developer, church musician, husband and dad from Georgia (in the middle of nowhere), USA, and I have only more recently gotten into chips / started looking to acquire and expand existing sets because I began to get into more serious boardgaming - especially heavier economic modern games / 18xx. I've read posts as a lurker here for a year or two but never joined. Just wanted to introduce myself. :)

Hello and welcome. I've seen so many posts about 18xx that I think I'm going to have to learn it, anything that brings together friends and allows me to use my beautiful poker chips can't be bad.

18xx is by far my favorite game 'system'. The games are quite deep, non-random (all player decision), and reward multiple plays and exploration of the decision space. The only major downside is that many of them take a fairly long time to play, even when you're more experienced.

18xx is by far my favorite game 'system'. The games are quite deep, non-random (all player decision), and reward multiple plays and exploration of the decision space. The only major downside is that many of them take a fairly long time to play, even when you're more experienced.
Do you have any advice on how someone can/should get started learning it?

Do you have any advice on how someone can/should get started learning it?

Honestly, the best way is to find a group that meets somewhere near you, get in touch with them, and tell them you want to learn. They can set up a game to teach you (and possibly others) and you will pick up a great deal more about how the games are actually played in that environment than by just picking up a game and trying it blind with other friends who haven't played before.

You can learn the gist of how these games work here: (still the best video after these years for a summary)