Looking for DIY/home remedy squirrel deterrent solutions (1 Viewer)

TheBigTater

4 of a Kind
Supporter
Reaction score
I just dropped off my car at the shop, for some minor scheduled repair work and..... to have a bunch of wiring replaced. Apparently a damn squirrel decided to nest up on the top of my manifold and besides storing his/her hoard of nuts there, decided to chew through a lot of my wiring.

I keep my car parked under a carport and even though I have old large oak trees in my yard and have a ton of squirrels, I never had one decide to try and eat my car. Talking to my auto guy, he said it's not an unusual problem, he has seen it more than a few times. Since i work in IT I've seen my share of mice/rodents eating CAT cables. It is vegetable byproducts that go into the cable coating that attracts them. I'm worried that once the squirrels have figured out it's a safe place to hide/nest up/grab a snack that they will return (costing me more repair dollars).

I've started googling for squirrel deterrent methods but there are a bunch and my auto guy told me that most of them are useless. So I'd like to know of any DIY/home remedy/old wives tale solutions for a "deterrent to keep squirrels from eating my car" anyone knows of (besides camping out with a 22 trying to pick the bugger off).

1BC7430C-A208-4F3F-A44A-200652AA4EA9.jpeg

Really though, posted to subscribe, they keep digging holes in our lawn to bury nuts and my wife won’t let me shoot the cute little buggers.