Learning Limit and Split Pot Games (1 Viewer)

AH77

3 of a Kind
Reaction score
So I basically have no experience playing anything other than nlh but would like to at least develop a general base for limit and split pot games. I've been watching a lot of the mixed game action on poker go and it seems like success in these games is heavily dependent on hand selection rather than simply outplaying people since you are always getting at least like 10 to 1 on a call.

I feel like you can overcome being card dead in nlh by just making moves and outplaying people but I don't see how you can really turn a profit in limit or split pot games without getting hands. Obviously I can see how saving or winning an extra bet here and there leads to long term profits but beyond that, it seems like a real grind. Again, I have no experience in those games so I'm sure there is a ton of nuance that I'm unaware of. What are your guys' thoughts/experiences playing these kinds of games?

I think they are really fun. You aren't entirely wrong that you need hands. You can't do much if you are card dead or missing draws all the time. You go to showdown a lot more often in limit, so you have to turn over winners. The difference is that everyone is going to showdown a lot more often. And winning and saving those extra bets really matters. Bottom line, most people outside of dedicated limit grinders are generally awful at these games.

If you decide to play limit games, your stakes (blinds) generally need to be higher than those of same blind NL or PL games. Otherwise you will feel like the pots are never big enough. There are 3 core games you should learn if you want to start:

Omaha 8b
7 Card Stud
2-7 Triple Draw