Ketogenic Way of eating... (2 Viewers)

SuckoutKing

Flush
Reaction score
Grand Rapids, Michigan and North Canton, Ohio
I'm sure everyone has heard about the Keto diet. But would you ever try it? Cut out sugary sweets, potatoes, corn, pop, pop tarts, cakes, cookies, on and on. Then try to maintain a diet that is low carb (less than 20-25 grams of carbs a day), 60-80% of your calories from FATS, 15-25% Protein! Sounds crazy right. We've always heard that high fat diets will make you fat, give you heart disease and you die! But as I'm learning about the Keto diet it's just the opposite. Its Sugar and all its forms. Some hidden in disguise but turn into sugar that will end up killing you.

My Keto journey started about 5-6 weeks ago. I work in healthcare as a Pathologists' assistant. I see the end results of disease and cancer gone wrong. So we have weekly presentations called Grand Rounds which is a luncheon with guest speakers. So one of our local surgeons who noticed that over the years his patients kept getting more and more overweight and they were becoming harder and harder to care for. So he started to research. He concluded that carbohydrates (sugar in all its forms) is to blame. The way it triggers an insulin response which over time requires more and more insulin. Until you become insulin resistant and type 2 diabetes sets in. All this caused by the good old recommended food pyramid. Eat those carbs blah blah blah...So the next day after his presentation I began my high fat low carb journey.