How to clean chips the right way? (2 Viewers)

DirtyyD

Sitting Out
Reaction score
What’s the technique and best way of going about cleaning your chips, I’ve never done it before and I have heavily used chips

You’re not gonna like the answer, because it’s labor intensive. It’s time for a @Ben8257 book!

There is no absolute "right" way. All the methods everybody has ever discussed/whined about here will work to get chips clean.

But

there are "easy" and "difficult" ways
there are "cheap" and "expensive" ways
there are "quicker" and "more time consuming" ways

This with an ultrasonic toothbrush
All I use

Attachments

• 3B32C572-0082-4103-A13B-7F511F4D7B7E.jpeg
    3B32C572-0082-4103-A13B-7F511F4D7B7E.jpeg
    112 KB · Views: 117
Copied my post from a previous thread on the same....after this you can oil or not oil up to you...I don't oil.

For most chips the sink with warm water, soap and a brush/sponge/cloth will do very well, however

For a "Good Job" I have used my new ultrasonic. It has worked great though I recommend a model without a drain spout as it may corrode (anyway)

For chips I use this recipe which is cheap, safe and easy to source, others use fancier products but this works.
-tap water at 42celcius (put in warm water, the unit also has a heater/monitor)
- course salt, create a hypertonic solution
- dish soap, I tend to buy green palmolive

For really dirty/light colored/special chips
put in only enough chips that can sit flat in the tray and run for 20 second, then take out the chips and using a toothbrush scrub each chip, then put back in the tray and run for ~10-20 more seconds and remove and rinse in the sink, preferably with a strong spraying tap with warm water

For less special/less dirty chips