GB who owns the artwork? (1 Viewer)

p5woody

Flush
Supporter
Reaction score
Who owns the artwork for individual request has been discussed, but not sure the situation where artwork was created for and paid for by GB participants.

Here is the situation. I created artwork for MSK plagues and the cost was for artwork creation was shared among all participants. I was contacted by a forum member requesting permission for use of the artwork with a few modifications to make it personal. Should this artwork be allowed to be used? Does it matter if they were a GB member or a non-GB member? If it is allowed who gives permission?

Just wondering what people think about this.

I'm not a lawyer (but I am the offspring wild dogs). My guess is that nobody will object. It seems that ownership would have to be specifically spelled out at the beginning

I don't think anyone would object, but maybe run it by the GB manager and get a sign-off just to be safe?

I'm sure they'd appreciate the check in, and then would probably tell you, "I don't care - do with it as you please." :p

FWIW: As Jambine stated I think you still retain all ownership/usage rights in this type of scenario.

IMO, the person/people that commissioned the work own it, i.e. everyone who paid for the artwork as part of the group buy.

Permission should be sought from every owner. That is unlikely, so make reasonable efforts to get approval from everyone and proceed cautiously.

Maybe next time, make it clear that YOU own the artwork and will give any group buy participant permission to use it without further charge but that you may permit use by non-group buy members for a charge.

Ummm MSK plaque group buy using the US dollar cash denoms?? Tell me more! Any chance it's the $5?

I'm inclined to think that the permission belongs to the individual that fronted the group buy. Here's my reasoning...